top of page
Search
  • Catherine Tang

A Salute to Gratitude by Catherine Tang


I am grateful

I am grateful for the senses I still possess,

My toes, my fingers, a working mind and body.

I am grateful for a healthy loving heart

So that I can feel deeply and be able to care

And to feel hurt, anger, despair, loneliness, joy and love.

I am grateful to be able, to just be.

And to be okay in my own skin.

I am grateful for the folks that are close by,

And the brother closer in heart.

For the life we’ve had that make us stronger, happier.

For the numerous relatives scattered about,

To a community, to which I belong.

I am grateful for their existence, their proximity,

For the sense of security and connection that transpires,

Their collective pragmatism, optimism,

Love of laughter and mutual ribbing.

Of their stories of days gone by,

A never-ending trail of ruminous humorous anecdotes.

A reminder of the simpler times, grateful

For the constant reminder of what matters.

I am grateful to all the passing ships and friendships

The cherished ones and the less savoury of souls.

To those who have made a lasting imprint

With their imparted knowledge and wisdoms

Nudging me along, as I stumble to find my own light.

I am grateful for all their teachings,

Their words gathered, garnered or heeded over time,

Embedded deep into my psyche,

To be drawn upon, when I felt the ground beneath me unsteady.

Grateful to be mindful to side-step and deflect

The emptiness and shallowness of humanity

As the barest of their dark shadows pass

For with this knowing, I am grateful for all teachings

I hope to become more learned

As I reflect upon my own lesser self

My own fears, insecurities, imperfections

As I gracefully approach mortality


I am grateful for the realisation of time.

Grateful that time allows us to flourish,

To receive what we need, when and as we need,

To cultivate patience within the ambit of our pressing world.

The importance and essence of time, that

When you march hand in hand in with time,

It is healing, revealing, and serendipitous.

And with time and grace, bestowed upon me

A beautiful companion with whom to grow alongside

I am tremendously grateful to be breathing in the Land of Oz,

A place full of optimism alongside its delinquency.

I am grateful for the jolt of hope it gives to my heart.

For what bereavement of family and friends leave behind.

For the life lessons they provide.

A tug of heartache to remember them by,

To continuously learn from what’s behind

And to forge ahead to make the most of life.

I am reminded to pass on my own learnt compassion,

To all those who need a kind word or thought.

And to remember gratitude, I am forever grateful.

86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page